films

YALC Reading List Part 8!

I’m back! June was a really busy month for me, with the end of university and having to pack and move – but it’s not less than a month to go until YALC and so I’m here to complete the reading list!

You can catch up or re-read the first seven parts here – one, two, three, four, five, six and seven!

Let’s get back into it…

57. Nat Luurtsema

Book to read: Girl Out Of Water

I’ve seen a lot of this book around lately on the Twittersphere, and it looks like a great read for fans of Rae Earl, Holly Smale and Jenny McLachlan (think My Mad Fat Diary, Geek Girl, Flirty Dancing…). When Lou Brown’s best friend swims though to the Olympic time trials, she had to adapt to a new life post-swim without her best friend… and a chance encounter with three boys could change her life forever. This one has some really great reviews, so if you’re looking for something to read that’s fun and summery, give this one a go.

58. Sarra Manning

Book to read: London Belongs To Us

I’m a big fan of Sarra, and have loved some of her adult novels – I recently read and reviewed her most recent young adult novel, London Belong To Us, here. It’s a really fun summer read and a beautiful ode to London, brimming with diverse and realistic characters. It’s such a quick read too, so perfect to pick up before YALC.

59. Taran Matharu

Book to read: The Novice/The Inquisition

I was really impressed with Taran last year at YALC, where he appeared on the panel for young authors. His first book, the Novice, found fame on Wattpad, and was published last year, with the sequel, The Inqusition, was published in May this year. The Summoner series revolves around an apprentice blacksmith who learns he can summon demons, and is put through gruelling training to fight in the war against orcs. The third book in the trilogy is yet to be released.

60. Julie Mayhew

Book to read: The Big Lie

Julie’s debut novel Red Ink was nominated for the 2014 CILIP Carnegie Medal and shortlisted for the 2014 Branford Boase Award. Her most recent novel, The Big Lie, is set in Nazi England and is a coming-of-age novel. Jessika, a future world champion ice skater and all round good girl, is threatened by the beliefs her best friend, Clementine, who is outspoken and radical. The Big Lie sounds really interesting, tackling the issues of sexuality, belief and loyalty.

61. Anna McKerrow

Book to read: Crow Moon

I attended a workshop run by Anna at last year’s YALC, but haven’t picked up any of her work. Crow Moon follows a boy, Danny, who finds himself suddenly powerful and in love with a powerful sorceress, Saba. The second book, Red Witch, came out earlier this year and follows Melz, who runs away from the Greenworld and finds that she is special, desired. Red Witch picks up where Crow Moon left off, but follows a different protagonist.

62. Jenny McLachlan

Book to read: Flirty Dancing

I read the first book in this quadrilogy this year – review here – and really enjoyed it. Each book focuses on one of a former group of friends, and the first book focuses on Bea, who enters a talent competition dancing with the school hottie, Ollie, who happens to be her ex-friend Pearl’s boyfriend (Pearl also has her own book!). These books are so fun, and would again be a quick read to pick up before YALC.

meredith-miller

63. Meredith Miller

Book to read: Little Wrecks

This one isn’t out quite just yet – it’ll be out in Summer 2017! (I guess there’s a small chance of ARCs?) No cover just yet but this one sounds very promising! The novel tells the story of three teenage girls living on Long Island in 1979, and explores themes of sexual violence and mental health.

64. Patrick Ness

Book to read: A Monster Calls

Admittedly, I haven’t read any Patrick Ness – I’ve looked into buying some of his work but nothing has screamed out at me (probably a good thing looking at the state of my TBR). A lot of people are big fans though, and he has won every major Children’s book prize, including the Carnegie medal – twice. He’ll be talking about the film adaptation of his book A Monster Calls (of which he also wrote the screenplay), which is about a monster that turns up at Conor’s doorstep – it’s just not the monster he expected from his nightmares. If and when I pick up a book by Patrick Ness, it’ll probably be this one.

That’s it for this week’s installment – I hope you’ve enjoyed it and I’ll be back next Sunday with more recommendations for this year’s YALC!

Annalise xxx

My Most Anticipated Movies – Apr-June 2016

I first intended this to be a series of book adaptations – but it turns out there aren’t too many coming out this year (all hail the rise of the video game adaptation).

Since I started university, (3.5 years ago – yelp!) I’ve taken up going to the cinema. This is mostly because there is only a Tesco in my university town and I amass clubcard points like nobody’s business – and get half-price/free cinema tickets in return.

Let’s get started, shall we?

April 2016

April is rarely a good month for cinema releases (I should know – my birthday is in April and there is NEVER anything I want to see).

Captain America: Civil War

Political interference in the Avengers’ activities causes a rift between former allies Captain America and Iron Man.

Now, I haven’t seen the other Captain America movies (but they are on Netflix and I have that so, no excuse) but I have seen the Avengers, and this seems to be a bridge between Age of Ultron and Infinity War. I’m not so sure on the tone of this movie – but it does feature some of my favourite Marvel characters (Black Widow and Scarlet Witch) and introduces Spiderman to the Avengers.

Released: 29 April 2016

May 2016

Alice Through The Looking Glass

Alice returns to the whimsical world of Wonderland and travels back in time to save the Mad Hatter.  

 Now, if you had asked me after the first Alice movie, I would have said this sequel wasn’t needed, at all. But after seeing the trailer in 3D IMAX before Star Wars, I started to get excited for this one – it has a great cast (Sacha Baron Cohen, Helena Bonham-Carter, Johnny Depp, etc.) and it’s very visually exciting. I’d like to see this one in 3D (it really did just grab me!)

Released: 27 May 2016

June 2016

Me Before You

A girl in a small town forms an unlikely bond with a recently-paralyzed man she’s taking care of.  

Cheesy (potentially devastating) romance, featuring some amazing British actors (Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, Jenna Coleman…) based on the best-selling book by Jojo Moyes (recently added to my TBR, might I add?). The screenplay was also written by the author (usually a good sign1!) I’m hoping to have finished the book before seeing this so I don’t cry in public… too much.

Released: 3 June 2016 (UK)

Warcraft

An epic fantasy/adventure based on the popular video game series.  

You can’t deny that the Warcraft world is amazing, visually beautiful and jam-packed full of lore and back-story. I’m not too sure on the plot of this movie – but hopefully if it is a success, this can be the start of a franchise with deep and rich stories and characters. (I’d personally like to see the Draenei and the Blood Elves, and a plot involving the Lich King). Hopefully this film will entice viewers into appreciating the beauty of the Warcraft franchise.

Released: 3 June 2016 (UK)

So there are my picks for cinema releases up til June – I’m sure many more will catch my eye in the meantime. What are your thoughts on my choices – are there any films you think will be smash hits that don’t feature?

Tweet me at @annalisebooks or comment below!

Annalise x