Why I’m NOT reading the new John Green book…

Evening book lovers!

Today is the 10th October and also the release date of the heavily anticipated new John Green book – Turtles All The Way Down.

john_green_turtles_all_the_way_down_book_cover

(Is anyone else underwhelmed by the cover? There’s exactly ZERO turtles.)

Unlike what feels like most of the YA community, I won’t be reading this (yet?).

Why?

The short answer is that I am on a book-buying ban and so all the books I’m desperately lusting after have been relegated to the christmas list.

The long answer is… I just feel meh.

I read Looking For Alaska years ago; it was one of the first YA books I read. There was hype around this book and it just didn’t do it for me.

I read The Fault in our Stars around publication day and thought it was ok, then reread it in preparation for the film and absolutely loved it.

Yet I still have two John Green books on my TBR (An Abundance of Katherines and Will Grayson, Will Grayson), both of which I have started and struggled to get through. Maybe John Green is just not for me, or maybe I should give his new book a chance (although the premise doesn’t excite me the same way a lot of YA books do?)

Please let me know if you’ll be reading Turtles All The Way Down, and if you have/haven’t read it, let me know why! I’d love to hear all of your opinions 🙂

annalsie

5 comments

  1. I’ll definitely be reading this one! I’ve loved all of John Green’s previous books so far! But if you weren’t that much of a fan of his previous books I totally get that you’re not the first one in line to read this one. (I have to say though, i was also pretty underwhelmed with the cover there should’ve been some turtles on there! :’))

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Annalise, hi! I somehow stumbled across your Twitter, and now I’m visiting your blog for the first time. Oh, I am glad you’ve written about John Green’s new book. I am on a strict budget, because family buys the books for me (I am unable to work). Basically, I loved most of his books, except for Will Grayson, Will Grayson (we don’t talk about that one because omg it was awful). However, I kind of don’t really want to follow the hype too much. When I read Paper Towns, Looking for Alaska, I was still trying to make sense of my mental illness. And, when I got my preorder of The Fault in Our Stars, I started seeking help. So, this book is going to mark a new part of my life, I guess (I hope?). Recently, I was diagnosed with OCD, which is something the main character in this novel has to deal with, which makes the book kind of close to my heart already. Funnily enough, I couldn’t afford the book this month, so I am hopefully going to ask for it within the upcoming months.
    (WOW, I RAMBLED. Sorry about that. Nice meeting you!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

